A Review of NY Mag’s “101 Best Sandwiches in NYC” Part 2

June 23, 2010

Below are my thoughts on specific sandwiches listed in New York Magazine’s “101 Best Sandwiches in New York” Grub Street list.  Rather than review the list sandwich by sandwich, I’m just going to address the stand-outs, ie, the sandwiches that make me say “I really want to try that”; the sandwiches that make me say “That isn’t a sandwich whatsoever”; and the sandwiches that say “Ugh”.

I think Eisenberg;s gets the shaft with having the last ranked sandwich. Making it # 101 makes it seem like they were forgotten about and added later. Very unfair.

The Chacarero Completo (97) looks like a taco on a sandwich. Well, I love tacos, and I love sandwiches, thus, I gotta go and get me this sandwich.

The telera (94) looks like something created from the land of misfit leftover Thanksgiving dinners.

I’m torn about pulled pork sandwiches (92), mainly because they are just bread, pork, and bbq sauce. It doesn’t really take much to make this other than patience and a good recipe. This one happens to feature cole slaw.

The picture of the chopped liver (84) proves why I don’t eat chopped liver. It looks like tuna fish gone bad.

A Chick-fi-A sandwich (78) is one of the best chicken sandwiches? Really? It’s one breaded breast of chicken on a hamburger bun and pickle. It looks like it came out of a box found in your local grocer’s freezer and it doesn’t look appetizing whatsoever.

I want to run out and get the Brisket (77) right now. And I just had a sandwich. It looks that good.

The fried chicken (72) looks like a heart attack waiting to happen, but it’s a heart attack I would gladly suffer from after eating this sandwich,

From the looks of it, the Fatty Crabs Tea Sandwiches (60) need some help. Such as more ingredients. It I wanted a sandwich with nothing on it I’d make a bologna and American cheese.

The shrimp roll (59) and the lobster roll (16) look divine. Perfect examples of how you’re supposed to put fish between bread (right after a shrimp Po boy). The oyster Po boy (73) looks like a passable New York version of the New Orleans staple. The oyster roll (47) and the fried whiting sandwich (66) are perfect examples of how not to put fish between bread.

Some of these sandwiches (95, 80, 79, 63, 54, 39, 26, and 12) look like you can’t eat it without a knife and fork. If I wanted to eat with utensils, i wouldn’t have ordered a sandwich I would have ordered a meal.

I think the egg toast (51) is missing something, Oh right, the other slice of bread so you can eat it like a sandwich and not an egg salad.

Sliders (45) aren’t sandwiches, especially ones made with meatballs.

Looking at the vegetarian sandwich (41) makes me so happy to be a carnivore. This looks like seaweed between bread.

I realize bahn mis are hot sandwiches, even I wrote about them, but 5 sandwiches from 5 different places (4, 17, 20, 48, and 49)? Couldn’t you decide which one was the best from one location and write about that one only?

The tuna (19), yet another sandwich that lost the second slice of bread. Are these for carb conscious eaters?

I don’t see how the smoke meat (11) is going to stay together after one bite. It looks like the type of sandwich that will be all over your plate within seconds of commencing eating.

It’s good to see the Romeo at number 8. Since this is one of my favorite sandwiches, I feel it should have been rated higher. But 8 is still pretty good.

The number 1 sandwich is a smoked brisket that is only available late-night on weekends. Is this sandwich # 1 due to its taste or the infrequency with which it is available for consumption? I don’t want the best sandwich in the city at 1 AM on a Saturday. I want it at 1 PM on a Tuesday when I can enjoy it.

The Top 51 appeared in the June 7, 2010 issue of New York Magazine, and the Top 101 can be found at: http://newyork.grubstreet.com/2010/05/the_101_best_sandwiches_in_new.html

One Response to “A Review of NY Mag’s “101 Best Sandwiches in NYC” Part 2”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Chris Naccari, Chris Naccari. Chris Naccari said: Part two of my review of NY Mags "101 Best Sandwiches in NYC" can be found here — http://ow.ly/22rol […]

Leave a Reply

