This Little Piggy Had Roast Beef

March 7, 2012

Hands down, roast beef is my all-time favorite sandwich meat (the redder the better). This Little Piggy Had Roast Beef is manna from heaven because it specializes in roast beef sandwiches. The menu has expanded since I first went there, and I’ve only focused on the roast beef portion.

This Little Piggy is quite small. You can eat there, but there’s only counter space for five, so I recommend getting it to go. There can be some confusion when you arrive because the space is tight and the chef is also the cashier, but it’s easily managed. Also, I’ve had the same sandwich maker every time, which has given all of my sandwiches a nice consistency.

THIS WAY

The first sandwich I tried was This Way, which is similar to a Philly cheesesteak, however, there are no peppers and onions. Instead, the sandwich is flavored with au jus. There’s so much cheez whiz on the sandwich it looks like an explosion of wiz. But this is a good thing. The cheese to roast beef ratio is exceptional, which allows each bite of roast beef to be covered in whiz. My only complaint is I couldn’t really taste the au jus. Overall a decent sandwich, but nothing really stuck out to make me want to order another one.

THAT WAY

That Way is my favorite sandwich on the menu. It features roast beef, mozzarella, and gravy on a hero. Although I don’t normally like my roast beef to be warm, this sandwich is fantastic. The roast beef was flavorful and cooked to perfection (it wasn’t bloody nor was it over-cooked). The mozzarella is extremely fresh and perfectly stretched across the entire sandwich. There isn’t an ounce of meat without any cheese on it. The gravy gives the sandwich an added juiciness. Traveling with the sandwich is no problem, it didn’t get soggy on the walk home. Each bite had the perfect amount of all three ingredients. I can see myself repeatedly going back for This Way. I highly recommend you try it.

THE OTHER THING

Recently added to the menu, “The Other Thing” is actually a pastrami sandwich. Since nothing can top Katz’s, and I’m not really a fan of pastrami to begin with, I skipped this one.

SOMETHING ELSE

Although no longer on the menu, This Little Piggy used to carry the Something Else. It’s similar to the That Way, however, it’s got wiz, mozzarella, and French fries. French fries should not be on sandwiches and that was enough to stop me from trying this.

THE POPEYE WAY

Instead I chose the Popeye Way (roast beef, provolone, and spinach). I did not choose wisely. First, spinach does not belong on a sandwich because it gives the sandwich a horrific taste that can only be counteracted by removing the offending taste (i.e., the spinach). I picked off all of the spinach on the second half and that made it tolerable. Second, there just wasn’t enough cheese (especially when compared to the amount of cheese on the other sandwiches). After the cheese melted it disappeared, which made it look like there wasn’t any in the sandwich. I also couldn’t taste it, but that could have been an after effect of the spinach flavor in my mouth. Finally, it was way too greasy. If it’s greasy enough for Homer Simpson to eat, it’s too greasy for me. I don’t want to be wiping my hands on my napkin after each bite.

BREAD

All of the sandwiches can be ordered on a hero or a roll. Always go for the hero. It’s more expensive but you’re getting your money’s worth because it’s a bigger sandwich with more of everything on it.

CONCLUSION

It’s simple really, if you love roast beef, you’ll love This Little Piggy.

This Little Piggy is located at 149 1st Ave. (www.thislittlepiggynyc.com/) and they can be found on Twitter @thislilpiggynyc

Leave a Reply

